Facebook has announced the launch of Nearby Friends, an optional feature that allows users to locate people they know who are close to them.
The feature, which is set to off as its default, has to be enabled by the user in order to see and be seen by close-by friends.
“Sharing your location with Nearby Friends goes two ways — you and your friends both have to turn on Nearby Friends and choose to share with each other to see when you’re nearby. Your friends will only be able to see that you’re nearby if you share this info with them and vice versa,” Facebook said in a blog post.
The feature also allows users to share a particular location with a friend for a set period of time.
“When you share your precise location, the friend you choose will see exactly where you are on a map, which helps you find each other. Then you can meet up and spend time together,” Facebook said.
The feature will be available on iPhone and Android devices in the coming weeks and will initially be limited to users in the United States.