CJN leads Seven-Man Panel To Hear Atiku’s Appeal In Supreme Court


The Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), Tanko Muhammad, is leading the seven-man panel of the Supreme Court to hear the main appeals filed by PDP Presidential Candidate, Atiku Abubakar challenging the September 11, 2019 judgment of the  Presidential Election Petition Tribunal led by Justice Mohammed Garba.

Other members of the panel are Justices Bode Rhodes-Vivour, Kayode Ariwoola, Amiru Sanusi, John Okoro, Ejembi Eko and Uwani Abba-Ajji.

Justice Muhammad and other six members of the panel entered the courtroom at about 9.09 a.m. on Wednesday prepared for the hearing.

The National Chairman of the PDP, Uche Secondus and his All Progressives Congress counterpart,  Adams Oshiomhole are also seated in the courtroom with a handful of their party supporters.

It could be recalled that the September 11 tribunal’s judgment which Atiku and his party are dissatisfied with had dismissed their petition challenging the outcome of the February 23, 2019 poll.

Following the verdict of the Presidential Election petition tribunal, Atiku and the PDP, On September 23, 2019, filed 66 grounds of appeal before the Supreme Court to challenge the judgment of the tribunal.

They prayed the Supreme Court to nullify Buhari’s victory and either order that Atiku be declared as the valid winner of the poll or order the Independent National Electoral Commission to conduct a fresh presidential election.

Below is a short video showing how the judges converged for the appeal hearing at the apex court.

Samson Oyedeyi

You might also like