Nigeria: Shell Cup enters zonal stage


Shell Cup

The ongoing 2015 All Nigeria Secondary Schools Football Championship, tagged the Shell Cup, has entered the zonal preliminary stage.

The state champions will now converge in nine cities across the country to determine which teams will move to the quarterfinals stage of the annual football championship.

The zonal preliminaries are scheduled to commence on Tuesday, April 28 as qualified teams are expected to be at their various zones on Monday.

In Osogbo, NNPC/Shell Cup champions from Ogun, Ondo, Oyo and Lagos will fight for the available quarterfinals ticket in the zone while in Ado Ekiti, the sole quarterfinals ticket in the zone will be contested for by schools from Ekiti, Delta, Rivers and Bayelsa states.

Other cities that will host the zonal preliminary matches are Enugu where Anambra, Imo, Benue and Cross River will battle for supremacy and the Samson Siasia Stadium in Yenegoa will be the ground where Abia, Ebonyi, Enugu and Akwa Ibom will slug it out for the quarterfinals ticket.

Kogi state capital city Lokoja will host Nasarawa, Bauchi, Taraba and Plateau state champions.

The NNPC/Shell Cup champions from Yobe, Gombe, Adamawa and Borno states will play their zonal preliminaries in Jalingo.

Also according to the fixtures released by the Nigeria School Sports Federation (NSSF), Niger, Katsina, Kaduna and Federal Capital Territory (FCT) are to play in Keffi while the newly completed stadium in Katsina will host Jigawa, Kano, Kebbi, Sokoto, and Zamfara states.

The zonal preliminaries will be concluded on Friday, May 1 with ten schools emerging as quarterfinalists.

The national coordinator of the championship, Shola Akinwale, disclosed to that matches will be played at 2pm and 4pm each day respectively.


Source# Supersport#

You might also like